Frozen

 
So there's been a lot of talk about this movie and I was fairly quick at seeing it. Simply because I didn't want Tumblr to spoil it all.
 
There's been a lot of reviews of this already but here's mine. 
 
I'll start off by saying that I did like it. It had likable characters, nice interactions, nice humour.. etc..etc.. Although.. I can't say that it was a good movie. 
 
I first of all think that they had too many characters that didn't have to be there. I think that there was no purpose of Hans being a villain or even having a villain at all and it felt forced. I think that the love story was also uneccessary and so were the trolls and Olaf. 
 
I can see what they were trying to do with all of these but it just felt like they didn't really know how to make it work. Because it didn't. I think that they should've put more interest in the two actual main characters (Anna and Elsa and their relationship) instead of trying to put in clichés in order to "mislead" us. I would've wanted to know Elsa a lot more than what we got. Because discovering her struggles in the movie would've been really interesting. Anna didn't have any personal struggles, nothing to really develop, and that made it boring. 
 
Something I did like that others don't seem to like was Kristoff and Sven. I liked their relationship and I liked that he talked for him. The only thing I didn't like was that Sven acted like a dog and that Kristoff didn't have more singing time. It's Jonathan Groff for crying out loud, he's an amazing singer. (And so is Idina Menzel and she should've had more songs too, to be honest)
 
While we're on the subject of singing I'll mention the music. I found it a little bit dissapointing that the only song that related to the culture and timeperiod was Frozen Heart in the beginning of the movie. I love that song, because of that. It set the mood for the enviroment and it was simply a very nice opening. Sadly the rest of the songs didn't carry this on. I did, however, like Let it Go.. as mentioned before I find Idina simply amazing and the part where she starts building her ice castle was very musically interesting to me. Sadly it came in too early in the movie and at a very strange place. It felt out of place when it started and just too sudden. It made it seem like Elsa didn't really struggle with leaving her sister or anything at all. We never got to see the struggle and suddenly she's all fine. 
 
There were some other catchy songs but.. meh...Although I did like the whole "Do you wanna build a snowman"-montage as well.. specially when we got to see how their parents died, I thought it was very pretty and fitted well into the music. 
 
On to animation. 
 
I've gotten extremely picky after I saw Rise of the Guardians I've noticed because when Frozen trailers started coming out I instantly started to compare Elsa's and Jack Frost's powers. How they looked in regard to animation for example.. This means that I might not be all that fair. Although after I saw it, I also compared it to Tangled. And well...
 
I thought it looked lazy.. I'm sorry but some of the background characters looked out of place (olaf and the choir for example).. the textures weren't all that detailed and sure it had some very nice enviroments but it wasn't all that impressive to me. And a winter wonderland, should be in my opinion (simply because I love winter so much). I also felt like they weren't as picky about how the characters moved.. the expressions and everything just didn't seem as good as they did in Tangled.. 
 
Overall it felt like they cared more about getting the movie out in the theaters than they did about making it a good one. I'm a little bit dissapointed in this, honestly. 
 
However, it was still enjoyable. 4/10



Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback