The Boy with the Cucko-Clock Heart

 
So I finally saw this movie, because I finally got a hold of it in english! Which can be hard when it comes to french movies, if you didn't already know that. 
 
Anyways, I have been so excited to see this movie ever since I first saw the first teaser trailer for it. It looked stunning, I loved everything about the animation and the feel to it and all the wonderful steampunk-y details that was in it. I also found a band called Dionysos through it who made the music for this movie and who is now one of my top favourite bands. 
 
When I then saw the movie, neither the music or the visuals disappointed me! It was absolutely gorgeous to watch and listen to and I enjoyed that very much. Sadly.. that was all I enjoyed. It was funny from time to time and the story, well... it was quite boring. It felt like someone outside of france had tried to make a french movie. It was very cliché in the way it handled love like it was the biggest and most important thing on earth. And it got a little over the top with that, and for me, who's not that much into romance.. that got quite boring. 
 
The ending was also quite rushed, a lot of stuff happened in the final moments of the film and it wasn't quite explained why Jack decided to die when he could be saved. Maybe he knew that he couldn't survive with love in his life so he chose to die when he was happy, after that kiss he got. Or the loss of his adopted mother was too much to bear.. no one really knows. You can only guess after all. 
 
Jack was however quite likable, and nothing is better to me than a likeable main character. Even his love interest was likable and so was his mother and his best friend. That's where I think this movie succeeded. It did have quite likable characters. The villain should've been explained though. Because he was only portraited like this guy who was in love with the same girl and therefor decided that "why not bully and destroy the guy? and if he dies, oh well". 
 
I would've wanted to watch this movie with the original language and subtitles instead but it was very hard to find. Because the dubs.. well.. they weren't that good. Some of the dialogue was cringe-worthy and the songs just didn't sit well in my ears with the translation. Everything is better in it's original setting after all. 
 
Either way, I would want to watch it again, if only to enjoy the music and the visuals. 4/10



Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback