Rise of the Guardians (and Wreck-it Ralph)

Okay, so I love watching animated movies, I really do. And today I've come to a conclusion.
After watching two movies at the same time, Wreck-it Ralph and Rise of the Guardians I noticed (since one is a disney movie and the other is dreamworks) I really do prefer Dreamworks animations. Beside Rise of the Guardians, which absolutely made it to a top favourite, dreamworks has made tons of some of my absolut favourite animations. Such as Antz, How to Train your Dragon, Megamind, Eldorado, Sinbad, Chicken Run, The prince of egypt etc. etc.. The list goes on. Sure Disney's also made some great stuff, but in the end, the new animations they've made doesn't really appeal to me.. I hated Tangled, it was too much of a fairytale that I've grown more than bored with... Though Bolt was alright but Wreck-it Ralph, which I thought would be great, also turned out pretty boring in my opinion. So in this post I'm going to talk about Rise of the Guardians and the oh so lovely Jack Frost. 
 
Edit: One thing I'd like to mention that I like about dreamworks is that they manage to have amazing soundtracks without having the characters sing the songs ;) That is one thing that's been a bit hard for me to melt because when you do that, it could either be really great or end in disaster, and since disney does this a lot, a lot of it just isn't good. 
 
 
The Rise of the Guardians is about all your favourite legends like Santa, The Sandman (John Blund in swedish), the easterbunny and the toothfairy making sure that the kids of the world are happy and hopefull. Which can be a hard task when you have to rival with the boogeyman. Meanwhile Jack Frost struggles to make kids believe in him, because if they don't, he can not be seen. And as many of you know, Jack Frost is a legend not many know about but might've heard the name of, me myself am not familiar with the story at all, but if it is something like the Frost in this movie, I think I'd like him, he is a winter spirit after all. Anyways, since the Guardians seems to need a little help fighting the boogeyman, the moon (who has made them who they are in the first place) decides to make Jack a guardian too, which he thinks is hard to accept. A twist that I liked about this movie is that they mentioned that each and everyone of them was someone else before they became these legends, and you do get to see Jack Frost's heartbreaking past which I love. 
 
As you might've understood, Jack Frost quickly became my favourite charactar in this movie, alongside The Sandman, or Sandy, who turned out to be a really badass but charming mute! This movie was very witty and funny, which is a big plus for me because if the jokes are good, I might even automatically think it's a good movie. It also makes the characters more lovable in my opinion. 
 
Except for lovable charactars this movie was really beautifully made. The scenery was fantastic and it made it's point, by giving a magical atmosphere. Which is also something I think Dreamworks is a bit better at :)
 
The only things I missed in this movie, was some background story on the other Guardians previous life.. and the cliché "almost death" of the main character that usually happens at the near end of the film. To see Jack Frost near a second death would've been a lovely scene for me, as you get to see others care for him, which I think is nice. 
 
Overall, Splendid film! I'd love to see it over and over again! 4/5



Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback