Movie Time: Frankenweenie

Based on the old Tim Burton short film, Frankenweenie has rise once again and made it to the cinema as a stop-motion animated film.
 
 
You know, I have a real weakness for Tim Burton and his work, it seems he could do no wrong in my eyes since every movie he's ever made and that I've ever seen has shot straight to the heart for me. I believe it started with The Nightmare Before Christmas (1993) which was one of my favourite films as a kid, I even remember us having it on one of those laserdiscs and apparently I used to call the movie "the pumkin" considering I didn't know the actual name. I was only little, after all. Since then (and with Edward scissorhands ofc) I've just been completely besotted! 
 
This movie wasn't any different. It had its Tim Burton charm in the animation (similar to the animation design used in Corpse Bride. Also, the main charactar in both films is called Victor!), it was in black and white so even though it actually was a quite lovely story it had its darker side to it, like a dark sort of romance. The making a sort of happy story so dark is one of the many things I love about this film and Tim Burton over all. (May I also mention that the whole Disney intro itself made me slightly impressed).
 
I know that Tim Burton has a tendency to reuse a lot of actors and co-workers, as he did in this movie. For one he once again used Danny Elfman for the movies soundtrack, which is something he shouldn't stop doing because for some reason, I don't think it would have the same effect without his music, it's simply brilliant for the works of Tim Burton. And this time Winona Ryder made another appearence, as she has before in for example Edward Scissorhands (1990) and Beetlejuice (1988). 
 
I'll admit that I did cry to this movie. I do have a soft spot for dead animals (which is not a spoiler considering the film is about dead animals rising from the dead).



Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback