ROTG Ranting

 
 
This clip is half of one of my favourite scenes in this movie. Why is it my favourite? Well.. the animation is beautiful and the music is brilliantly written to help set the mood in this scene, in my opinion.
 
I'm also going to add a little rant that I recently put up on tumblr about the fact that ROTG was as "unsuccessful" as it was and that it probably won't get a sequel.
 

To me, dreamworks has been superior when it comes to storytelling and 3D animation. And it saddens me that Disney has been so huge that they tend to accept everything they do, even if it’s not good, while smaller companies like Dreamworks, Blue Sky etc.. have it harder.. at least that’s my view of it. 

I personally never really thought Disney over all was all that good.. sure there are some good movies out there that they’ve done.. but my favourite ones has never been Disney. Such as The Secret of Nihm (previous disney animator, yes but not disney) and Yellow Submarine (which was a very impressive piece of animation in that time since it wasn’t disney). And then we have those from dreamworks such as Antz, The Road to el dorado, The Prince of Egypt etc.. 

It saddens me with Rise of the Guardians because to me, it felt new and interesting. It didn’t have the normal storyline and pacing like the others did. To me it left open so many interesting doors that makes me want more, but to me that’s a good thing.. it’s what made me like it. It felt interesting. And the animation and the bloody details! Geezus! And the music, specially during the fighting scene with Jack and Sandy, it did such a great job setting the mood for that scene. All the characters where likable, I can honestly say that I love all of them! And they all seemed like normal people! No one was abnormally heroic or superior, they all actually felt like people you could relate to, which also scored a lot of points for me since I have a hard time relating to people in films. (closest girl I’ve ever related to was Merida and her relationship with her mum was kind of like me and my mum when I was younger, but otherwise I hardly relate to movies at all). This film was very realistic, despite the obvious fantasy-theme it had. Despite being about legends with magical powers. It felt like there was a possibility that that could actually happen, and that’s also something I hardly ever feel. There’s a lot of movies that I love, but it was a long time ago that a movie made me feel so much like this did, and that is despite having lots of holes in it and being too short.

As the one above me said.. if anyone THIS movie DESERVES a second movie. And there are so many people out here who can back that up. I want to do anything I can to help raise the money for it if needed, because it saddens me that they lost so much on a movie that should’ve been much more appreciated.

 



Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback