Musicals

So, an ensemble at my school is having a musical concert today. They're going to perform music from the musical Chess (a musical I personally have no idea what it's about) and well from what I've seen from the rehearsals yesterday, it's going to be pretty good. 
 
Also, well lets just say that it got me into some kind of musical... spree.. kind of. I went on and listened to a hell of a lot of music from different musicals.. such as two of my favourites: The Phantom of the Opera and Hair. I thought that I wanted to share some of my favourite scenes/songs from different musicals, since well.. I relived some memories yesterday and well.. I just love musicals.
 
Firstly: A scene from hair, the ending scene more specifically. 
This musical was one of the first ones I saw, around the same time I saw Grease for the first time. And this scene never failed to make me cry. I think that it's very brilliantly made in how they tell the story and the music is fantastic! 
 
 
 
This next clip is from a rather new musical. It's possible that I've showed this clip before but it's.. well it's just so nicely done with the scenery and everything and I think it's a brilliant cover of the original song.
I'm not sure if this musical ever made it to the stage, but I hope it will because I would watch the crap out of that play.
Anyways! The musical (Movie) is called Across The Universe, it's in the same kind of area of time as Hair and is sort of about the same thing, just a bit differently told. The musical contains Beatles-music (No original songs, for those who prefer that.. but they almost seem original so give them a chance) and like The Beatles.. it's... weird. It has a lot of WTF-moments but I personally think they help giving the film some sort of feeling. It's just.. so nice and so good and such great music.
 
 
 
Lastly (for now) I'm going to show a scene that also has been my favourite for a while and will probably continue to be my favourite part of the entire film. The musical is called Moulin Rouge and the song is El Tango de Roxanne. Like Across the Universe, this mainly contains non-original music, but there's a lot mash-ups so for me it doesn't matter. And it does have original songs.. but it's only like.. two. xD 
 
 



Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback