Glee: Actually not that bad

I know that Glee's seen as one of those shows that you're literally a wuss for liking. I think that that's mainly because of the singing, kind of like the same impression people get when they hear "musical" "Oh, gay!". But I think that's odd, because music's always been cool, but it's not cool to sing? What did you think the musicians were doing? And some musicals are pretty badass, in my opinion. Some are very brutal even, like Sweeney Todd but no, that's not cool because they sing. 
 
I also think that Glee's not appreciated because it's a high school drama, kind of chick flick warning, but it's not all about that. If it was, I wouldn't like it. And here begins the ranting on why I personally think that Glee is underappreciated. 
 
Firstly, People think Glee is lame, as in cheesy, but the jokes in that show are brutal. Due to Sue Sylvester and that other coach that I can't remember the name off there are jokes that could actually make you cringe, not because they're bad, but because they're offensive and you don't know if you should laugh or not. ¨Not to mention sexual jokes. 
Like this joke directed towards Artie (a student in a wheelchair)
 
Dakota Stanley: Artie you're cut, you're not trying hard enough
Artie: At what?
Dakota Stanley: At Walking
---
Rachel[about vomiting to lose weight] I tried but I guess I just don't have a gag reflex.
Emma: One day, when you're older, that'll turn out to be a gift.
---
Sue: Is there any reason you have a soiled mattress in your office, Will? Have you and the redhead become so sexually depraved that you have to commit your craven acts of adultery in between classes?
---
Russell: Uh, my name is Russell, and I'm a glee club survivor. Whenever anything bad would happen, I would just say, "Let's put on a show!" Well, guess what? Puttin' on a show about your father's prostate cancer will actually just make him more depressed about the situation.
---
Sue: Is it a tad over-the-top to bill the district for skydiving lessons to have the Cheerios parachuted onto the football field? Perhaps.
 
etc.. there are tons more and better than these but at the moment I couldn't remember or find them xD 
 
Secondly, Glee is a really random show. Stuff you never thought would happen happen. It's almost like after watching the show for a while you wouldn't be surprised if a dinosaur suddenly ate everyone. And sure, in that sentence I suppose it's not really a GOOD show that way, but it's not a sappy high school drama that's for sure. 
 
And Glee is probably the most controversial show I know. They bring up almost every single problem and situation. We have people from different nations like Latinos, Asians, Europeans, Black etc.. and We have Gays, Lesbians, Bi and even Transgendered. We have Christians and Jews (yet to see a muslim that actually speak about being a muslim though, but it's possible that the princible is muslim, but I'm not sure), and Atheists. They bring up Teen-pregnancy, Dyslexia, Child abuse, Sexual abuse, Abuse in homes, Handicap (Both Mental and psysical), Gun Violence, Internet Dating etc.. And they do it well. They do it really well, in my opinion. It's one of the few shows I've seen that bring up this stuff and show both sides of it, two reactions to everything and they don't judge. (well sometimes they do but it's not that they neglect the other person's opinion completely because of it).
 
One of my favourite quotes and actions was in an episode when Kurt's dad had a heartattack and his fellow glee mates started showing their religious support, Kurt in that case explained that he was an atheist and the reactions were.. well.. not entirely acceptant. And then Coach Sue helps Kurt get religious songs banned from Glee Club, which is a bit harsh but when Emma (a student counselour) goes to yell at Sue for her actions she says something that is just so good. And here it is:
 
Emma: What happened to you, Sue? What horrible, horrible thing happened to you that made you such a miserable tyrant?"
Sue: Have a seat. Since I was a little girl, I've had exactly one hero. My big sister. You know how much I worshipped her? She was the sun and the moon to me. And while I was still very young, I noticed that other people didn't feel the way I did. People were rude to her. They were cruel. They laughed at her, and so I began to pray. I prayed every night for her to get better. And nothing changed. So I prayed harder. And after awhile I realized it wasn't that I wasn't praying hard enough. It's that no one was listening. Asking someone to believe in a fantasy, however comforting, isn't a moral thing to do. It's cruel.
Emma: Don't you think that's just a little bit arrogant?
Sue: It's as arrogant as telling someone how to believe in God, and if they don't accept it, no matter how open-hearted, or honest their dissent, they're going to hell. Well, that doesn't sound very Christian, does it?
 
Ah, Glee is love to my moral-discussion heart. 
 
Lastly, Songs. 
The glee songs are very hated, I know and just as any cover some can be really bad. But I think that the hatred of the show has gone over to automatic hate towards the songs and I don't like that. 
Glee has a lot of creative ideas when it comes to some songs. The Warblers did all of their songs accapella and it was interesting. Artie did a song called "Never going back again" where it started out with one aucoustic guitar and later ended up with a stage filled with them and it sounded splendid.
Santana and Sebastian did a duett of "Smooth Criminal" featuring two cellos, also freaking cool! 
Then we have the Mash-ups. A Mash-up is basically two songs mashed together to create a new song and Glee is pretty damn good at this.
Some of my favourite mash-ups from the show is Rumour Has it/Someone Like you, Umberella/Singing in the Rain, Halo/Walking on Sunshine, Happy days are here again/Get happy (Though this is actually a mash-up that has been done before by Judy Garland and Barbara Streisand, it's still wonderful though), Thriller/Heads will roll etc.. :)



Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback