Yeah, my recent obsession is taking up some blogspace again.. Deal with it!

Simon Amstell is getting too much hate. I read an article before where Noel Fielding said that he thought that Amstell had "ruinied" NMBT. The reason to this was that apparently it was getting harder to book people because they were afraid of being ridiculed by Simon Amstell.

And well, I've seen a bunch of stuff by him. I've seen him on Buzzcocks, Popworld, his own standup and his tv-show (then a few other things) and I honestly don't think he's ruder than anyone else. And I think that, as an artist (actor, musician or whatever) you have to be prepared to be a bit ridiculed, whether by a comedian or by actual reviews of your work. The big difference between Amstell and a review is that Amstell is more often than not not serious about what he says when he takes a piss at people. Be happy that he's actually not just taking a piss for the sake of doing it, but it's actually funny when he does. 

I also don't understand the whole Mark Lamaar (Hosted NMBT before Amstell) vs. Simon Amstell thing. Because I see some people saying that Mark was so much nicer to the guests but then I also see people mentioning things like "oh if he was on the show with Lamaar he would get so burned" which implies that he would be meaner than Amstell (doesn't it?). I haven't seen much with Lamaar, just a few episodes, because he doesn't really interest me, sure he's funny as well no doubt about that, but he doesn't attract my attention enough. So I don't fully know how he is, but again.. he seems to take a piss at people just as much as Amstell does.

I kind of wonder is he's just got a bad reputation from popworld and the whole "making britney spears cry"-thing, that people increase the situation and get more offended than they should be (I really don't know, it's just what I think).

Amstell also somewhat apologized several times by trying to change the show around a few times (like the rabbit episode) but then people complained. People also complained when he left the show in 2006, so really.. what kind of double standards is this? 

His "mean" humour on NMTB helped the show make it as 34th (or 36th, can't remember) best tv show during the Amstell-era. And he won several awards for it. I think that people should worry less about what you can't say about people and rather accept that it's a good laugh.

Laughter is supposed to be good for you, isn't it? 




Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback