Favourite Beatles-Film

(And By Beatles-film I mean about the beatles, not by the beatles)
 
BIRTH OF THE BEATLES (1979)
 

 
Why this is my favourite?
Well first of all it's very funny.
It shows some of the stories told by the beatles themselves
like for example making a bet with Rory and the Hurricanes about who could break the stage,
and dressing up for a number (They did this in Backbeat aswell, although it was just Lennon wearing a skirt).
One they did not show though, but rather made their own version of (They lit the place they stayed in on fire instead), was Paul McCartney and Pete Best lighting a condom on fire and then ending up spending a few days in german jail until getting deported.
Although I guess I can't be too dissapointed about that since none of the beatles movies I've seen has shown that story.
 
Another thing I liked was Rob Culbertson, who plays Paul McCartney. Why? Because he was the first Paul I've ever thought was fit to play Paul. In most beatles films I've kind of liked the guy who played Lennon (Except in John Lennon: In his life. But that movie just sucked all over) but I've never liked the guy who played McCartney. In this movie though, I did! And as a bonus, I liked the rest of the cast aswell (Even though the guy who played John looked a little too old)! I think the cast did a great job of acting like the real deal, in movements and personality. And the cover band who did the songs for the movie was great aswell! Rain I think their name is. ¨
 
There was also many more moments including Paul and John and their friendship in this movie, in comparison to other beatles movies where paul has been more of a side character. Though Nowhere Boy probably has the most moving McLennon moment, this had some great ones aswell!
 
All together, The Birth of the Beatles is one of those films I just find cosy to watch and that I wouldn't mind watching over and over again (Something I already have). Funny fact too: The Original Beatles apparently didn't want this film to be released at all, shame I think, and I'm glad they did it anyways!

Trackback