Art & The Beatles

Ph: Boxart by Maria Bajt

Actually had a rather good day today. Ate at subway with my dear mate Rebecca, sang Mozart Requiem, went to an artshow and bough two Beatles-books. Memories of John Lennon and a sketchbok with cover of Help! on the cover (Heh it's a cover on the cover).
The picture above is a boxart made by one of the artists at the artshow, Maria Bajt. This one in particular caught my interest the most. It actually put a big smile on my face when I saw it! And since we've gotten the opportunity to work with boxart in my artclass, this definately gave me some insperation!
On my way home I got to talk to my artteacher a  little more. I'm usually rather quiet in class since I'm the only one from my school.
He seemed surprised over the fact that I enjoy The Beatles and 50's rock music when I'm at the same time so interested in the grotesque and dark artform. I explained to him exactly why I personally thought that The Beatles fit well into that category aswell. In the end he agreed. I also declared my love for Klaus Voorman's art.
While I was waiting for my bus in town I took the opportunity to check out a new bookstore (who has taken the place after the best musicstore we had, unfortunately). And I thought I'd try to look for some beatles-biographies or, if I got lucky, maybe find John Lennon: In his own write. I didn't find either, though I did find a book about Lennon published by Yoko Ono. It contained a collection of various people's memories of him and I figured it could be a good read. Though I'm not too keen about the fact that it's translated to swedish. Because I lose the ability to read the book in an english accent. Which equals less fun reading it.
I also found a sketchbok that I've seen before in another bookstore in town, though it was much cheaper here so I decided to get it while I could. As I said before, It got the cover of the album Help! on the front, and it looks neat! I'm currently filling the first white page with sketches. but I actually plan on working a little more on these drawing than I've done before, and actually fill up the entire page.



Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback